An otter in my garden!

Otter Napping

Otter Napping

 

Note: I wrote this piece yesterday but didn’t have a chance to post it.  At the end is an update.

 

This morning I was walking in the back garden with my dog when he suddenly got excited.  Instinctively I tightened his leash and from a bed of reeds there burst a long, sinuous dark shape with a rounded, muscular, tapering tail.  “Otter!” I thought to myself incredulously.  The apparition vanished into the bushes at the front of the house.

 

I went indoors, calmed the dog and stepped carefully out again.  The otter was curled up against the side of the house, in a bed of crepe myrtle.  It appeared to be asleep. 

 

My daughter took a photo.  I went indoors and got a bowl full of water (it was getting to be a rather hot, dry day) and set it cautiously at the base of the fir tree not far from the otter.  The otter looked suspiciously at me and sort of flowed slowly into the shelter of the bushes. 

 

I spent all morning trying to find a human to speak with at various places, from Mass. Audubon to the Aquarium, to the Fish and Wildlife folks, only to be confronted with tedious automated recordings that were totally useless.  After some hours I managed to contact the Animal rescue League, who informed me that they don’t rescue animals unless they are injured or ill.  I also talked with a marine biologist who suggested I let the creature be, since it would probably find its way home in the night.  Meanwhile my husband had determined that northern river otters are nocturnal, so there was likely no harm in letting the otter sleep it off in the front yard.

 

Otters are not a common sight in my area.  I live in a very large town, and although there used to be a forest with some wetlands and ponds behind my house, the forest is gone now.  The wetlands are supposedly protected but where the forest used to be, right up against the wetlands, is a massive construction project.  The neighborhood tried to save the forest but to no avail.  Since then the coyotes and deer we used to see have gone, and so have the fishers.  I heard there used to be beavers back there but I never heard there were otters.  I suppose that is where our guest came from — whether this otter left because its habitat was (illegally) disturbed by the construction people or because it wandered off on its own accord and ended up further than it intended, there is no way of knowing.

 

So we canceled our plans for the day.  I walked to the grocery store, a pleasant walk in this weather because you go through the neighbourhood and a small, wooded area.  I bought some tilapia for the otter just in case.  The rest of the day I stayed home, roaming from one window to another, trying to catch a glimpse of the otter.  I set out another bowl of water at the side of the house where there are more bushes, and also distributed some chunks of the tilapia.  Just in case it was hungry.  But all it’s done so far is sleep.  At one point it rolled out from under the bush (presumably in its sleep) and lay on its back with its eyes closed, stretching its paws in slumber the way my dog sometimes does.  I could see that the front paws were webbed, which was very cool.  It breathed easily, turning in its sleep, like a child.  Some hours later it sat up and looked around, and then went into the deepest, greenest bush, where it is sleeping as I type this. The water and fish remain untouched. 

 

So while it sleeps, I ponder.  I hope it will find its way home when dark falls.  I wonder what brought it here, to our garden.  Our yard is a small wildlife haven, with its birdfeeders and nut treats and birdbath, and its lack of pesticides (we have a lot of wild plants, you know, what other people call weeds).  My husband put the bird feeders up last fall, and since then we have had a number of visitors, including a plump bunny that seems to have taken up residence and runs only half-heartedly when the dog (leashed) tries to chase it.  A few mornings ago my husband saw a deer (now a rare sight here) munching seeds that pile up under the birdfeeder.  But one of the most rewarding things about the bird feeders is that we’ve had birdsong all winter long.  Imagine walking on this street in the dead of winter, with the bare trees stark against a gray sky, and the snow thick on the ground.  All the houses are shrouded in quiet.  Then, as you come close to our house and pass it by, you hear an absolute  cacophony of birdsong.  Quite uplifting, in that season, to hear an intimation of spring. 

 

But an otter?  That’s something special. 

 

Some days ago I re-read Ursula K. Le Guin’s book of short stories, Tales from Earthsea, where the first story is about a man who can turn into an otter.  When this man, Medra, or Otter, as he is commonly known, is escaping from his enemies, he is given shelter at a village called Woodedge.  Later Woodedge comes to be known as Otterhide.

 

If all ends well tomorrow, maybe I should reaname our house Otterhide.  J

 

Update: Today, April 19, I could find no sign of the otter.  One of the three pieces of raw fish I left out was gone, although there’s no telling who ate it.  I assume our guest found the way home.  Much as I’m worried about how the construction behind us might be disturbing the wildlife, I’m also glad we could provide a place for the otter to take a nap. 

 

 

 

 

Tags:

2 Responses to “An otter in my garden!”

  1. Pundit Says:

    I hope it got back to where it otter be.

  2. bobprice Says:

    With no where else to go, it’s joined the growing community of displaced life who wander our countrysides and streets. Keep watch–it might show up late in the afternoon as a busker going by Otr who plays jigs on a penny whistle, his sign reading How I Play for My Food, If It Pleases (with the word Fish scratched out next to Food.) Or a sleek-haired homeless maiden slipping through crowds and asking for change, but never slowing for an answer. Or a grizzled old being slumped against a stoop, signs of life the cherry ash on his cigarette and one eye barely open. Or it’ll be the oddly familiar lithe businessman in the silk suit who insists that you step ahead of him in line at the tea shop. Otters are masters of industry and have succeeded brilliantly in the human world where they can adjust to a diurnal day and resist grooming themselves in public. (If you’ve ever visited a zoo with otters happily lazing in a pond and grooming their genitals to the titters of children and the sudden fleeing of adult spectators, you’ll know what I mean.) More than one have been President.

Leave a Reply

